Weekly Photo Challenge: What Are You Waiting For?


“For a while” is a phrase whose length can’t be measured. At least by the person who’s waiting.” ― Haruki Murakami, South of the Border, West of the Sun

The Weekly Photo Challenge is Waiting. 

We do a lot of waiting in Nicaragua. Right now, I am waiting for my eye to heal and there is an epidemic of pink eye on the island, so I am quarantined in my house until the epidemic is over.

We remain in readiness for the next eruption of our active volcano, Concepcion. The last time she awoke was in 2010.

Our chicken buses count on us and halt at the bus stops.
We never have to pause for long when we need a helping hand in Nicaragua.

Our La Paloma baseball team anticipates the ball!
The Fuego y Agua Beer Run participants don’t linger guzzling their beers at the starting line.
Ron expects big fish in the Rio San Juan River! Worth waiting for.
But, the only thing he hooked, was his finger. He didn’t look forward to the nurse removing it.
The lawn work is on hold until the rain stops.
We are sticking around for the ripe Jackfruit! Almost ready!
Even the insects wait their turn for the sweet nectar in my garden.
The Howler with his tail wrapped around a limb, rests in the shade.
And this unlucky cane toad lies in wait for a rescue from my shop vac hose.
I couldn’t pass up this photo, although it was taken in New Zealand while we were waiting for the cricket game on the television to continue.
What are you waiting for today? 

17 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: What Are You Waiting For?

  1. Hi Debbie,
    I commented on an old thread so nit sure you will see it.
    I am an expat living in Indonesia but thinking of relocating to Nicaragua. I will visit in December and was hoping I could meet you for coffee and chat about expat life in Nicaragua and gardening.

    Thanks in advance,
    Suzanne

  2. It all seems to be about waiting so many times, doesn’t it Debbie? Maybe another way to think of it and put a positive spin on the the thought of waiting is to call it ‘anticipation.’ It seems to require less patience when I think of it that way! I hope your eye is continuing to recover as anticipated and that you’ll soon be engaged in all the things you so enjoy including spending time at the library and with your neighbors. 🙂 Anita

  3. Hi Debbie,

    We wait no more. Debbie and I are getting ready to travel to Ometepe! We are very hopeful we can get together with you and Ron while we are there and share a flor de cana. We will be there most of October. We have a lot of projects in Punta Pinuela, but are also looking forward to decompressing a bit. We are are also planning on finishing the last touches on on architectural drawings to God-willing begin construction of our home mid next year. A lot of plans… I was happy to hear your surgery at Vivian’s was a success and hope you will fully recovered soon.
    Really hope you two will be around.

    Ernesto

  4. Oh it’s so great to take a quick stroll thru your waiting post! It’s good to ‘see’ you, even though you are weary of that wait, especially to be in quarantine as well.

    My GPS location is changing so fast that I’ve had little time to wait/linger, and very few internet options.. Will be catching up soon, but am now back in Ecuador after one week in cr and another in pty… Internet options continue to be the greatest challenge, and with the world in such chaos, I realize that my challenges are tiny in comparison.

    I hope that your vision is normal —- asap!

    Love
    Lisa

  5. Hey there AND
    Speedy recovery….time is just a figment of the imagination anyways……ha ha…!!

    I waited for the hurricane Irma to pass….. hung out in Cleveland with friends.. where I ended up after a great 4 week stay in the Azores islands of Portugal visiting many of the 9 islands there …gorgeous..

    Then waited to change all my air tickets ,,and hotels etc etc …
    and am finally on my way again , going to Sarasota now , coast is clear…. getting some stuff out of my storage unit to bring back to Guatemala…yeah!!

    Nothing blew away…

    I now will be waiting to discover my lil piece of land .. .wherever …
    but in the meantime will find tons to do with shooting weddings , people and places …in Central America ..

    Life is all about waiting , moving forward and waiting , and moving forward ,,
    but the wait..

    always is a blessing …

    Light to ya ,
    Heidi

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

