Wanderlust: A belly aching fire


The Weekly Photo Challenge is Wanderlust.

I know some of my readers wonder why I include posts about our travels to other countries besides Nicaragua. After all, my blog is supposed to be about living in Nicaragua.

Yet, my gypsytoes ache for travel. Because we live in a country where the cost of living is low, we can afford to travel, especially during the most brutal and oppressive heat of March through May.

Currently, we are in the mountains in Patzcuaro, Mexico. We were in Cuba in March and are headed to the states next week for the month of May. No matter where our wanderlust takes us, it is always great to go back home!

“The Wanderlust has got me… by the belly aching fire”
― Robert W. Service, Rhymes of a Rolling Stone

Cuba

“There’s something about arriving in new cities, wandering empty streets with no destination. I will never lose the love for the arriving, but I’m born to leave.”
― Charlotte Eriksson, Empty Roads & Broken Bottles; in search for The Great Perhaps

Antigua, Guatemala

“A person does not grow from the ground like a vine or a tree, one is not part of a plot of land. Mankind has legs so it can wander.”
― Roman Payne, The Wanderess

Patzcuaro, Mexico

“You don’t even know where I’m going.”
“I don’t care. I’d like to go anywhere.”
― John Steinbeck, Travels with Charley: In Search of America

Jonesborough, Tennessee

“How you live your life is up to you. You have to go out and grab the world by the horns. Rope it before it ties you down and decides for you.”
― Sarah Reijonen, Country Girl: Letting Love & Wanderlust Take the Reins

Machu Picchu, Peru

“There was a lust of wandering in his feet that burned to set out for the ends of the earth. On! On! his heart seemed to cry. Evening would deepen above the sea, night fall upon the plains, dawn glimmer before the wanderer and show him strange fields and hills and faces. Where?”
― James Joyce, A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

On the TransAlpine Train across the New Zealand Alps

“It’s in those quiet little towns, at the edge of the world, that you will find the salt of the earth people who make you feel right at home.”
― Aaron Lauritsen

Cartagena, Colombia

“The desire to go home that is a desire to be whole, to know where you are, to be the point of intersection of all the lines drawn through all the stars, to be the constellation-maker and the center of the world, that center called love. To awaken from sleep, to rest from awakening, to tame the animal, to let the soul go wild, to shelter in darkness and blaze with light, to cease to speak and be perfectly understood.”
― Rebecca Solnit

15 thoughts on “Wanderlust: A belly aching fire

  1. My favorite: “We shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.” T. S. Eliot in “Little Gidding” from The Four Quartets

  2. These quotes will appeal to anyone who cherishes opportunities for embracing the new, who wants to discover what’s around the next curve, or whose ‘intrepid’ backbone gives fear no permission to reside… Keep sending these glorious smoke signals!

  3. Some great images! And the Cuban roads must be being improved….smooth Tarmac? Lines painted down the centre of the road? Signs? None of that was in evidence when I was driving there over a decade ago!

  4. OHHHHHH,,,I sooooooo feel the same ,,,,
    I would travel 24-7 but ohhhhhh….. sooooooo now need to build ….
    and Im in area and am surrounded by super “”natural builders”” right in my backyard and I must build my lil solar , off the grid homes for my around the corner …future.
    But this will be an adventure too and I’ve been led to an area around Lake Attilan , with the push and shove and direction of God.
    But he has graced me with everything I so love and need here , plus so many ways to give back.
    Surrounded by so many who love the Lord , what a garden of faith ,,,, and love!!!!!!
    And so I will plant some of my roots now and create my delectable Heidi’s Heaven , filled with …
    heavenly treats and cool stuff!!
    En JOY all things new and lovely on your paths…!!!!
    Light ,
    Heidi

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

