Why We Need Cabinets in Nicaragua


We hope that, when the insects take over the world, they will remember with gratitude how we took them along on all our picnics. ~Bill Vaughan

I spend my life in Nicaragua sweeping up bug carcasses. No space is sacred, nothing is left untouched. We have regular infestations of termites, ants, spiders, and chayules (aquatic mites that swarm from the lake). See my life in Battling Bugs.

Herman, the master cabinetmaker, came into my life when I needed an enclosed space to put my collection of Pre-Colombian pottery pieces I find on the beach. The bugs particularly liked to nest in the ancient pieces. Master Craftsmen in Nicaragua

When the ants attacked all the food that was sitting on open shelves, Herman returned to build me kitchen cabinets. The Heart of My Home

Now, Herman is back with his latest masterpiece, cabinets for my office.

herman

Again, I drew plans for wall to wall storage and Herman crafted this huge piece to fit perfectly in its new space. With the help of his family, they lifted, twisted, and scooted the master storage cabinets into my house.

herman-and-brothersWhat a joy it is to have all my books, papers, craft and art supplies neatly tucked into an insect proof storage area. Plus, I love organization and I feel lost in a disorganized world.

img_3109Thanks to Herman, our house is slowly becoming bug proof. All the cabinets are made of a type of Nicaraguan cedar, which is fragrant and repels bugs.

Now that we are in the dry, windy season, it is so much easier to clean my house with enclosed cabinets. The bugs still get into our house, even though everything is screened, but they have fewer places to hide.

I sure hope the insects remember my kindness, when they take over the world. They had the free reign in my house for seven years! No more, thanks to Herman, the Master Cabinetmaker.

13 thoughts on “Why We Need Cabinets in Nicaragua

    • Barbara, we just went through our first chayule swarm of the season. It was a grand test for my cabinets. They are so tiny that they can get into the house through the screens and when we open and close the screen door. But, my cabinets are definitely bug proof…and beautiful to boot!

  1. That is indeed excellent woodwork! We too continuously battle insects. We got a set of plastic jars with screw-on lids to keep our opened sugar, rice, and flour etc. in when we first got here. Not good enough! We have learned. This morning I opened a new bag of oatmeal. Before putting it into one of the plastic jars I cinched down the bag with a clip and put the bag into a good quality zip-lock plastic bag – sealed that and then put it into the jar with the lid screwed on tightly. The little tiny bugs are perhaps more of a nuisance than the larger ones! Part of the price we pay for living where it is warm all year. JandM

    • Indeed life in Central America is grand…once we get the bugs under control. lol I need to write another post about my collection of Pre-Colombian pottery pieces. We have a treasure trove of shards and sometimes whole pieces we find on the beach, especially during the dry season when the lake recedes. It is incredible. I never buy or sell the pieces. Bad karma. I am only their protector, thus the need for a beautiful cabinet in which to display them. 🙂

  2. I was on a HFH Build near Managua in November 2016. My first time ever outside of the US. What an amazing experience.!! The country is SO beautiful. So much lush foliage and so many gorgeous lakes, just to name a few things. I hope to return on another build soon. I really appreciate your stories. And the cabinets are lovely too! God bless you.

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

