Feliz Navidad de Isla de Ometepe


“The smells of Christmas are the smells of childhood” ― Richard Paul Evans

My annual tradition has always been to bake dozens of Christmas cookies and pass them out to my neighbors and friends. Although it was meaningful in the states, for me it is more significant in Nicaragua for several reasons.

img_4606

First, there is little competition for the best Christmas cookie recipes. Nicaraguans seldom make cookies and it isn’t a tradition here. Lourdes has been my cookie making buddy for six years. And she has become an excellent baker, learning the intricacies and secrets of the perfect Christmas cookies.
img_4604Second, baking Christmas cookies has become a tradition that I can share with my Nicaraguan friends and neighbors. They all look forward to my annual sweet gift. I have an opportunity to share my traditions with other cultures.
img_4610Third, the house smells delicious and since December is a cool month in Nicaragua, it is perfect for baking.
img_4609

Most importantly, baking, decorating, and sharing my love for my cultural heritage unites our diverse community. It gives me an opportunity to give back to those who have so humbly shared their cultural traditions with us.

img_0899From my house to yours, we wish you the rico smells and tastes of the holidays…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

twinkling lights…lots of decorations…and the gift of sharing cultural traditions.
img_0874

17 thoughts on “Feliz Navidad de Isla de Ometepe

  1. Love this Debbie! How fun that you can bake cookies and share with your friends. I love baking cookies and so do they kids. A wonderful tradition. Merry Christmas and all the best for 2017! 🙂

  2. My culinary and baking skills a barely on the ‘slim’ side of ‘slim to zero’, but maybe I should try to up my game… those gingerbread men sure look inviting (especially if washed down with a cold bottle of Tonya)!

  3. I used to spend my weekends in December baking and decorating cookies (as well as nibbling on the imperfect ones!) and giving them out to friends, neighbors and family and you’ve brought back some wonderful memories! In fact, when we were selling everything, I made sure to scan in my favorite cookie recipes to my Dropbox file for the day when I could resume the tradition. I may have to bake a batch of sugar cookies this year. Looks like you’re putting the Merry into Christmas but I’ll wish you a Happy Christmas anyway! Anita

  4. Lovely tradition. For quite a few years I made plates of cookies and candy for people at places I frequented, such as the library, post office, certain stores, etc. I haven’t gotten that tradition started again since we moved, but I’m putting it back on the agenda for next year. I don’t have enough time to do it this year, but I miss it.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    janet

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

