There is a Crack in Everything


….that’s how the light gets in. ~Leonard Cohen

Perhaps “Anthem” by Leonard Cohen, which took him a decade to write, is the most meaningful message for our troubled world today. In honor of the life of Leonard Cohen, my photos of New Zealand bring me comfort and solace along with his lyrics.

There is a crack…a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in.

Craters of the Moon

Craters of the Moon

The birds they sang at the break of day…start again…I seem to hear them say…do not dwell on what has passed away…or what is yet to be.

Rotorua hot springs

Rotorua hot springs

I can’t run no more with that lawless crowd…ah, but they’ve summoned, they’ve summoned up a thundercloud…and they’re going to hear from me.

South of Auckland

South of Auckland

There’s a crack…a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in.

Rotorua

Rotorua

Every heart,  every heart to love will come but like a refugee

Redwood Forest, Rotorua, New Zealand

Redwood Forest, Rotorua, New Zealand

Ring the bells that still can ring. Forget your perfect offering. There is a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in. That’s how the light gets in.

Huka Falls, near Taupo.

Huka Falls, near Taupo.

24 thoughts on “There is a Crack in Everything

  1. Hi, Debbie
    Heard a little reminder of the quakes in NZ and wondered if you guys are still there and are well.
    Over time you have taken some great shots and just checking if you are ok with me using them for inspiration for my water color painting.

    • Hi Ed,
      Sorry I haven’t responded earlier, but we have been in travel mode. We are still in New Zealand. It has been an incredible month and I have thousands of photos to sort through. Please feel free to use my photos for inspiration. I am honored. I’d love to see the final watercolor paintings.

  2. Thanks for mentioning our Canadian poet, Leonard Cohen. There was a CBC radio show about him on the weekend. I think everyone I know has shed a tear or two for him…..I think the name of his last album is so funny, You want it darker….that dry wit that everyone so loved….

  3. Gorgeous ,,,

    what a lovely country …..

    I met alot of people from there on my trip to Bali.

    Alot of open space …fewer people …nice.

    Have a blessed and joy filled time !!!

  4. Hi Debbie, great post!!
    We’re making progress in planning our trip, when will you be back on Ometepe? Wanda and I will be there for what looks like 10 days beginning end of January. Would love to see you if you’re back by then!

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

