Weekly Photo Challenge: My Quest for Cultural Diversity and Immersion


The Weekly Photo Challenge is Quest

“Our ability to reach unity in diversity will be the beauty and the test of our civilization.” ― Mahatma Gandhi

This is a perfect photo challenge for me because my blog focuses on cultural diversity and cultural immersion. My quest for cultural diversity and cultural immersion plopped me smack dab in the middle of an all Spanish-speaking community in the middle of Nicaragua, in the middle of a giant sweet sea, in the middle of Central America.

What have I learned in my quest for cultural immersion in Nicaragua?

I’ve learned that there is significant diversity in religious beliefs and practices. As a result, I am more informed, tolerant, and appreciative of various religions. I feel a deeper and thoroughgoing appreciation of the different religions; their infinite variety becomes a source of fascination and enrichment for me.
img_1291I’ve learned that children are children throughout the world. They all want to belong, to be loved, and to be appreciated for their unique qualities.
img_9637
I’ve learned that plantains are the bread of life in Nicaragua…boiled…fried…smashed…they are a staple in the Nicaraguan diet.
img_7030I’ve learned that a Nicaraguan laundromat is way different from my idea of a public laundromat.
img_8318I’ve learned the art of giving unconditionally. This is my lovely little La Paloma library…my solace and my inspiration for helping the children in my community develop a love of reading.
img_2218I’ve learned that together we are stronger…especially when pushing a big ole’ school bus out of our sandy beach.
img_9855I’ve learned about the traditions of Nicaragua. Lourdes prepares for her quinceaños party…her 15th birthday party. Believe me…it is a BIG deal in Nicaragua.
img_8464In turn, I have learned to share my traditions with my friends and neighbors. Lauren and I dye Easter eggs.
img_1419I’ve learned the importance of a good education. Our god-daughter, Alba Lugia preps for graduation.
img_9663I’ve learned that simple is better…and a lot less stressful.
img_6719I’ve learned that all Nicaraguans are resourceful and creative. The director of the Museum on Solentiname Island has her husband row her to work everyday across the lake.
img_7139And I’ve learned that there is always room for one more on a motorcycle.
motorcycleMost importantly, in my quest for cultural immersion, I have learned that we all have the same basic needs…to be loved, to be protected…to belong. In Nicaragua it is true that it takes a village to raise a child. Family is the number one priority.
img_0127What have you learned in your quests? 

 

18 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: My Quest for Cultural Diversity and Immersion

  1. Wonderful posts Deborah… very insightful…filled with your own observations which help to make it so very real for all of us who read your blog posts. WE are observing the differences here in Esteli, everyday and loving that.

  2. Hello Deb-
    This is a very inspiring piece.. Totally written from the heart… With deep measures of understanding and insight. I love that you so eloquently share this with us…

    I’m on a new blogging quest- putting Just Another Nature Enthusiast to rest for a while. I have a vision for trying a new approach to my blog that will inspire others to “write outside.”
    Kind regards- Jane

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

