One Historic Moment on Ometepe Island


“I have one life and one chance to make it count for something… My faith demands that I do whatever I can, wherever I am, whenever I can, for as long as I can with whatever I have to try to make a difference.”
― Jimmy Carter

 

My most historic moment in Nicaragua was meeting President Jimmy Carter on Ometepe Island three years ago. Read my story here. Our Visit with President Jimmy Carter

I admire Jimmy Carter for these great accomplishments:

1. He created the Department of Education
Of course, because I have had a lifetime career in the field of Education, I believe this was a bold and necessary move to separate it from the overburdened Department of Health, Education, and Welfare.

2. He installed solar panels in the White House.
This demonstrated to the world that he was serious about conserving energy, which truly starts at home. Then, when Ronald Reagan moved into the White House, he had the solar panels removed because he thought they were silly!

3. He granted amnesty to Vietnam draft-dodgers. Although this was seen as a controversial move, it was gutsy and brought needed closure to an issue that needed closure in order to move forward.

meeting Jimmy Carter copy

4. He returned the Panama Canal to Panama.
Another bold move that made the U.S. look confident, instead of paranoid and petty.

I admire his strong faith and his service to others through Habitat for Humanity, the eradication of the Guinea worm in Africa, and the establishment of the Carter Center. He has a tremendous desire to make his life count. As a result of his philanthropic deeds, he is renowned world-wide for his dogged determination to bring basic human rights to those who are unable to secure them for themselves.

the Carter family enters the museum copyFor these reasons, meeting President Carter and his lovely family was one of my most memorial historical moments on Ometepe Island.

Written for Alisa’s Travel Theme: History.

 

4 thoughts on “One Historic Moment on Ometepe Island

    • Nicole, it was the highlight of my life on Ometepe Island. When I lived on Cape Cod, Mass and taught 2nd grade, I lived in Ethel Kennedy’s house in the Kennedy Compound. I was her house sitter and Rose Kennedy lived beside me. I have been blessed with many historic moments in my life.

  1. Wow, what an honor to have met him! Many Nicaraguans are not fond of him due to his historic political dealings here, but there is no doubt that he is a great man of compassion and care. Let’s hope that his Carter Center will be allowed to observe the elections in November.

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

