Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Spice of Dinnertime


The Weekly Photo Challenge is: Dinnertime

“Each spice has a special day to it. For turmeric it is Sunday, when light drips fat and butter-colored into the bins to be soaked up glowing, when you pray to the nine planets for love and luck.”

― Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, The Mistress of Spices 

The use of turmeric dates back nearly 4000 years to the Vedic culture in India, where it was used as a culinary spice and was considered to be sacred and auspicious in the Hindu religion. Today, there is a renewed interest in turmeric for its medicinal properties, its golden-yellow dye, and its anti-inflammatory properties.

IMG_4915

We’ve been growing turmeric for several years now. From placing the root into the fertile ground with some water and year-round sun, the turmeric will be ready to harvest in about 250 days. Insects don’t bother the turmeric and it needs very little care.

IMG_4914Turmeric is different from most herbs in that the roots are harvested, not the leaves. We know it is getting ready to harvest when it flowers.
IMG_4912Soon, the leaves will turn golden brown and the roots are ready to dig. Cut the rhizomes from the stems and wash carefully and they are ready to slice and eat.
IMG_6071We eat them in salads at dinnertime, and sprinkle the dried turmeric on curry dishes and pasta.
IMG_6069This year, we were finally successful in drying turmeric and grinding it into a fine powder. Be sure to wear gloves because it stains everything a golden-yellow.

IMG_1501There is nothing like the peppery taste of fresh turmeric at dinnertime. Plus its incredible anti-inflammatory properties are a miracle for the arthritis-like symptoms of Chikungunya. Try some turmeric today…the golden spice of dinnertime.

The History of Turmeric including recipes

17 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Spice of Dinnertime

  1. Such a wonderful spice! I knew it was a root, but hadn’t realised what the plant looked like – and I’d seen them many times before when I lived in Zanzibar.

  2. I suppose you haven’t heard anything from John and Mary, or Lisa, post-earthquake. I’m so concerned, but can’t do a blessed thing. Do you happen to have a cell number for Lisa? Sprint and TMobile are offering free calls and texts to Ecuador, but I don’t have a number for her.

    • I have been worried sick about both of them. Lisa wasn’t in Jama, but John and Mary are in San Clemente, an area that could have been hit hard. I have Lisa’s email and I sent her a message. I will look for a phone number, but I don’t think she gave me one when we were visiting her because we didn’t have a phone we could use. If I can find a number, I will send you an email. If you hear anything, please let me know. Stay in touch.

      • I emailed her, too. I happened to hear about it last night just after it happened, and at first, with reports of a 6.9, I thought, “Well, ok.” Then, when the USGS upgraded it, I really felt sick.

        My first thought was that since she’s back in the cloud forest, she might not have suffered so much, but I saw some reports from Mindo last night that it was significant there. Nothing to do but wait.

  3. I’ve never seen it growing but we saw it drying when we were in Costa Rico a few years ago. Looks a lot like orange grubs or maggots before drying and grinding. 🙂 How cool to use spices you grew!

    janet

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

