Ten Films to Watch Before Traveling to Nicaragua


Sorry, I had technical difficulties, but all the movie trailers should show now.

“The whole of life is just like watching a film. Only it’s as though you always get in ten minutes after the big picture has started, and no-one will tell you the plot, so you have to work it out all yourself from the clues.”
― Terry Pratchett, Moving Pictures

 

Living in Nicaragua is like arriving to the movies ten minutes after the big picture has started. We piece the clues together to get the big picture daily. Before traveling anywhere, we always read books and watch films related to that country. It helps to get the “big picture” in areas of historical, socioeconomic, and social contexts.

   Ten Movies About Nicaragua

1. Dreaming Nicaragua

Available on Amazon Prime Video.

 

2.  Alsino y El Condor – watch the entire movie here

3. Walker

Available on Amazon Prime Video

4. La Yuma


Available on Amazon Prime Video

 

5. Freeway: Crack In The System

Available on Amazon Prime Video

 

6. El Hombre Nuevo (The New Man)

El hombre nuevo (The new man) – Trailer from Cordon Films on Vimeo.

Download the movie Here.

 

7. Caffeinated


Watch on Amazon Prime Video.

 

8. Nicaragua Documentary about Education – short 12 minute documentary

 

9. Perfect Days in Nicaragua: A Surfing Documentary

 

10. Nicaragua: A Nation’s Right To Survive

And by popular demand, Mosquito Coast

Watch on Amazon Prime Video here.

 

Make some popcorn and watch these excellent movies and documentaries about Nicaragua. Happy movie watching.

16 thoughts on “Ten Films to Watch Before Traveling to Nicaragua

  1. I suggest that Under Fire be added to the list. I work at the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha, NE and have been active in medical/health programs in Nicaragua for over 20 years. I have been showing Under Fire to groups going to Nicaragua as part of the pre-trip planning preparations. The movie came out in the early 1980s and depicts Nicaragua in the weeks leading up to the downfall of Somoza in July 1979. An action-packed drama, it stars Nick Nolte, Ed Harris, Gene Hackman and Joanna Cassidy.

  2. Thanks for the tips. I have to join into the previous comment discussion and put my two cents in. “Mosquito Coast” is one of my all-time favorite movies. We’re going to look for a way to stream or download “Walker” with Ed Harris. We ran into William Walker’s story during our time in Leon and Granada and found that his story was a fascinating reflection of the US attitude towards its southern neighbors as well as its use of Manifest Destiny as a justification for acquiring more land. The movie promises to be great entertainment! Anita

    • Well, I am going to have to do a search for the Mosquito Coast and add it to my collection.🙂 The reviews of “Walker” weren’t great, but the book was incredible. I, too, am fascinated with the history of the U.S. involvement in Nicaragua…and not much has been complimentary as far as illegal interventions by the U.S. government.

    • Well John, let me tell you, the hardest part was not uploading. The hardest part was embedding them in my post. I thought I had everything embedded and when I published it, only half the movies were showing. I finally figured it out, but I was worried I was going to have to delete the post and start all over again. Thank goodness for the WordPress support forum.🙂

  3. What? No “Mosquito Coast”? I haven’t seen the film, but I’ve read Theroux’s book several times — fascinating stuff, but probably not fodder for someone trying to decide to move, or not. It would be a shame for them to think “he” would be their neighbor.

    • Shoreacres, first many, many thanks for helping me figure out what I had done wrong with the embedding. I took your advise and deleted those posts. lol Second, I never even thought about putting Mosquito Coast in the list. Like you, I read the book and watched the movie. I think I will let well enough alone on this movie, especially if people are trying to decide whether to move here or not. Ha! But, for those who have never seen the movie, I’ll bet you piqued their curiosity.🙂

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

