Weekly Photo Challenge: The Lightness of Being


The Weekly Photo Challenge is Weight(less). We built a plunge pool about six months ago, and I can tell you that there is no better feeling than floating in the cool water when the temperatures are wickedly hot.

I love dipping into weightlessness and sinking into dreams. It’s the freest place to be. The possibilities are limitless and my imagination becomes a weightless wonder.

Trees creep into the edges of the pool giving me a sensation of swaying weightless in the gentle breeze with them.
My unsinkable solar disco light bobs in the morning…
and dances with pulsating lights at night.
IMG_8298Floating in this cosmic plunge pool, I am like a frog, gleefully oblivious to the world beyond my buoyant space.
“When you see a fish you don’t think of its scales, do you? You think of its speed, its floating, flashing body seen through the water… If I made fins and eyes and scales, I would arrest its movement, give a pattern or shape of reality. I want just the flash of its spirit.”
Author: Constantin Brancusi
I feel like a turtle…hard on the outside, but all squishy and soft on the inside. Turtles love to float, too.
Like driftwood, I am porous, yet resilient. The lightness of being penetrates every pore.
Everything drifts and swirls in my brain while I am floating weightless in my little pool…philosophies swirl around grocery lists…the gently rocking waves wash away real and unreal anxieties…thoughts float like plankton…all is right with the world when I experience the lightness of being in my little plunge pool.

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: The Lightness of Being

  1. Our pool is a little larger, but since it is almost always just our pool, it is quiet and peaceful. I, too find many a stray thought begins in the surreal the half-sleep state one drifts into in a quiet pool and many a poem has found its’ origin in our little pool.

    I also have a theory that all retired people should have their fingertip pads in a wrinkled stated for at least an hour a day. Float around until the finger-tips are wrinkled once a day and only good things will result!

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

