Let’s Get Real about the Internet Service in Nicaragua


It has been a long two weeks. I am without Internet and it has taken me several days to figure out where the problem is located. A technician came to check the tower, but he couldn’t find a problem. However he did not understand the configuration or know to how to check for other problems.

In Nicaragua, service is inefficient, disorganized, and slow. We have learned that if you need to fix something, you must learn to repair it yourself. I played detective for several days, unplugging cables and moving my router…to no avail.

The owner of GGnet refuses to answer my texts or telephone calls. His technician, who came to look at the tower said he would return later that day, and we haven’t seen him since. I discovered long ago that maΓ±ana means today, tomorrow, next week, or months from today…sometimes it means never.

If they don’t have a solution for a problem, they will tell you what you want to hear, just to save face. Can you tell I am frustrated? I think I found the problem. The network adapter box is fried. So, I am going to Rivas to buy another network adapter box.

I have learned not to rely on anyone else to fix my internet problems. So, my wonderful readers, please be patient with me. I am at an Internet cafe learning how to use my new iPad, and I am not sure how this post will look. It took me forever to remember my administrative password.

I hope to have my internet fixed soon. Self sufficiency is the key to a good life in Nicaragua. Stay tuned for more stories and photos…as soon as I figure out how to transfer my photos from my computer to my iPad. πŸ™€

29 thoughts on “Let’s Get Real about the Internet Service in Nicaragua

  1. self sufficiency is the key to a good life, anywhere. I love it when you keep it real! stay strong and remember what it was like to drive on the freeway to work everyday. if that is indeed what you did. if you didn’t, here in the 4th largest city in America, I can tell you that it sucks. but this Thursday, I finally get to quit my job!!!

  2. You have the double whammy of a new computer (always a huge learning curve no matter how you approach it) and no internet! Sounds like frustration will rule for a bit until you find a creative solution and I feel for you. Nicaragua is a spectacular country that sometimes succeeds too well in encouraging creative solutions… Anita

  3. Oh my! I feel for you and agree that the only person you can ever really depend on is yourself. I would hate to have iternet issues. At least that is rare here, but sometimes I wish we didn’t have to call a repairman for anything because they are as bad here as they are where you live. They never show up half the time, or if they leave for something they never come back. I live in theSstates, but people are really irresponsible in Utah where I’m livng now. I’ve lived in five states and have never seen people act like this. It makes me want to take a course in all kinds of house repair so I can do it myself and save all the frustration.

    • Sunni, I guess irresponsible businesses are all over the world, right? The only way to deal with the problems is to learn to fix it yourself. We’ve done that with most things, but the internet issue was beyond my capabilities. Maybe I should take an online course for network configuration issues.πŸ™‚

  4. Our internet service runs on microwaves transmitted from a hilltop antenna 10 kilometers from our house, where a smaller antenna captures the signal Precise positioning is a must, as it is a line of sight transmission. It will never be ‘high speed” but it has gotten better and better in the last 5 years. Sometimes, still, as around late afternoon or early evening, it crawls to a near standstill.

    We have just learned to be patient and try later.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    • That’s the same internet service that we have, too. It is a microwave tower with direct line of sight to the mainland. When our internet worked, it was rapid in the morning and evening and slow as a snail in the afternoon. They finally came yesterday to fix our problem. It was a configuration problem. They are returning to add another extension to our tower. Right now, our tower sits on the roof of our two story casita and has two poles, so they are going to add a third pole to get it above the trees.

    • Oh Trevor…you are so right. Our problem is that we live in a rural area and don’t have access to a phone line cable in our community from which we can receive cable internet. So, GGnet, our internet provider, has no competition because they are the only alternative service available on Ometepe.

    • Oh Steve, you are so right. I hate to be one of those complaining and demanding gringas, but I wanted my internet fixed NOW! Here’s the funny thing…I send text messages 3 times a day to the owner, and left voice mails 3 times a day for a week. He never answered his phone. When I went to the mainland to his “office” which is really his mother’s home, I met his lovely mother and explained all the problems. She told me that her son changed his telephone number and gave me his new one. And she told me not to worry, that she would put a fire under her son. Gotta love the Nicaraguan mothers. The next day, my internet was fixed.πŸ™‚

    • I do sound like Lisa. I can identify with her internet issues. The big difference is that we installed an expensive internet tower instead of using a small modem hooked into my laptop. I had to go to the office of my internet provider on the mainland to get them to help me. They came out the next day to fix the problem, which was their network configuration. It certainly isn’t easy to get anything done around here. I asked them to only bill me for 3 weeks in June, and they were happy to comply. Thank goodness I am once again connected to the world.

  5. Are people getting worried about Concepcion erupting? I read that they are telling people to stop hiking up to the top.

    • Nicole, I have internet now. It’s a long story, but they came to my house and fixed the problem. My former 5th grade student came to visit me..her first time in Nicaragua, and now she calls me the crazy internet lady because for a week all I did was fret about my internet connection. lol

  6. When I lived in Liberia, the most-used phrase may have been, “I will try.” Then, later, when the tire wasn’t fixed, the greens hadn’t shown up from the market, the mail hadn’t been carried from Monrovia — whatever it was that you’d asked — the response always was, “I tried.”

    I’m not sure why I’m suddenly thinking about that.πŸ™‚

    • Haha! I understand this completely. The local businesses are very helpful. I don’t want to sound like a complaining gringa, but I just wish that they would say, “I’m sorry, but I can’t help you fix your problem,” instead of “I tried.”

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

