Weekly Photo Challenge: Mastering the Force of Nature


The weekly photo challenge is Forces of Nature.

             “Man masters nature not by force, but by understanding”
               ― Jacob Bronowski

The rainy season has begun in Nicaragua. Our first rain started gently, and I grabbed my camera to get this shot of a heron bathing in the lake. But, within a few minutes, the rain sliced through the sky so forcefully it uprooted trees and our new stepping-stone path to our house reminding me, once again, that man masters nature not by force, but by understanding.

IMG_7678

18 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Mastering the Force of Nature

  1. HI THERE ,,
    GUESS U MAY BE IN THE STATES??
    I WILL BE IN OMTEPE FOR FIVE DAYS ,,WOULD LOVE TO MEET U!
    I JUST FINISHED READING YOUR BLOGS YOUVE WRITTEN,,,,, FROM YEARS AGO TO LEARN ABOUT NICARAGUA ,,WHEW!!!!
    WHAT AN EDUCATION,,,!!!!!!
    AND I SURE WILL BE ON THE LOOKOUT FOR THE”””” EVIL FRENCH DUDE””””””

    ,,HOPE HES OUT OF GRANADA BY NOW ,,,AND OUT OF THE COUNTRY ,,,IF NOT ,,,THIS WORLD!!!I
    WONT BE TRUSTING ANY””” EXPATS”””” ,,,,AND NEITHER NICAS ,,,FOR A LONGGGGGGG TIME AFTER READING ,,WHEW ,,,SUPER GROSS!!!!

    AND I THOUGHT IT WAS BAD HERE IN FLORIDA,,HAHAHAHAHA

    ANYWAY, IS YOUR TAXI DRIVER FRANCISCO ,,STILL IN YOUR WORLD????

    AFTER READING ALL ,,,HMMMMMMMM…THOUGHT ID ASK!!!

    ANYWAY ,,,BRAVO FOR ALL OF YOUR INFO. THANK U!!!!

    IM ARMED AND READY,,,, HEART ,,MIND ,,AND SOUL…..FOR MY ADVENTURE THERE!!!!!!

    • Heidi, you read my entire blog??? You have to win some kind of prize or something. I need to take you out to eat when you come to Ometepe Island. lol We are still in the states, and enjoying the cool weather. Francisco, our taxi driver will be picking us up when we return. I think his number is on my blog, but if not, let me know if you want me to contact him. Hope to see you real soon, Heidi.

  2. So happy to hear your rains have started and may they continue gently to preserve the tierra but heavy enough for a bountiful harvest. Very little heavy rain here this past rainy season on our part of the coast, will be a poor crop harvest and the dust and allergens were on the warpath. Mosquitos were at a minimal but we sure did miss the nightly musical concerts of the frogs and toads. Keep your eye on your temperamental lady, seems to be a lot of volcanic activity around the world the last few weeks. Stay safe amigos..Amor y abrazos de Ecuador

  3. Beautiful photo. Thank for you for announcing the arrival of the rains. What a relief! It’s always my favorite time in Ometepe. The edge between life and death, the hope for el campesino that eventually will be a harvest, the happy song de los monos, the smell of wet earth, and the frogs that just seem determined to move in with us. Nature does not seem to know how to be gentle on our island. Mourning the loss of so many trees because of our brutal summer, with the heavy downpours begins the struggle to hold down to the fragile few inches of tierra we have. And the dance continues on the edge, where life is most exuberant. Wish I was there.

    Enjoy!

  4. Beautiful photo! When I saw this photo challenge one thing that popped into my mind was your beautiful volcano. That is definitely a force of nature too. BTW, your path looks great!

    • Well, to be honest, Kris, I didn’t post photos of our beautiful volcano because she was very angry this week with 60 small gas explosions and many small earthquakes. I didn’t want any bad mojo between our majestic Concepcion and Ometepe Island. So, I ignored her and she went back to sleep yesterday. She sure is temperamental.

    • Lynne, now I’m curious as to whether it is a white heron or an egret. I’ll have to do some research. Our first rain was a gusher and it washed out our stepping-stone path. But, we have fixed the problems and are waiting for the next big rain. Now, we’re tracking our volcano Concepcion because there have been over 60 small gas explosions in the past two days. I should have written about the force of Concepcion, but I’m a little nervous and hoping she goes back to sleep. This morning, no activity. Keep your fingers crossed for us.

    • Trevor, the first rain was forceful and we hadn’t embedded the stepping-stones into the ground. When the water pounded the ground and rushed downhill toward the lake, our stepping stones scattered. But, hopefully, we’ve fixed the problem and reinforced the sides of the path with concrete once we embedded the stones.
      We haven’t had another strong rain yet, so time will tell if we fixed the path and our new patio.

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

