Weekly Photo Challenge: Come Together Right Now


The Weekly Photo Challenge is Converge. The Nicaraguan people have converged or assembled for many things recently. Using some of John Lennon’s lyrics for “Come Together”,this is a visual story of the ways in which the Nicaraguans converge.

                     Here come old flattop he come grooving up slowly
                     He got joo-joo eyeball he one holy roller
                    
Nicaraguans converge at the cemetery to celebrate the life of my neighbor, Don Jose.
IMG_5053
                 He say “I know you, you know me”
                 One thing I can tell you is you got to be free
                 Come together right now over me

Nicaraguans rally against the proposed Nicaraguan canal.
Ometepe Protestsflags waveFrightening red lines join the canal route, where half of Ometepe Island will be controlled by the Chinese.
IMG_5216                      He say “One and one and one is three”
                      Got to be good-looking ’cause he’s so hard to see
                      Come together right now over me

The children of the La Paloma Elementary School unite in their joy of reading at the grand opening of their new school library.
IMG_5359                   One thing I can tell you is you got to be free
                   Come together right now over me

The community of Los Ramos assembles to give thanks for the donations after the landslide that heavily damaged their village.
2014-10-30-3480

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Come Together Right Now

  1. One thing Mary and I have really learned about our neighbors here in a small coastal town in Ecuador is the strong sense of community that our friends have for our little town. Virtually everything is done as a community. My new favorite saying is, “Yo soy San Clemente – pata salada” – Which roughly means I am a San Clemente-ite – my feet are salty or I have planted my feet in the salt of San Clemente. Sounds like you have the same type of community there. Great post!

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

