Weekly Photo Challenge: Summer Lovin’


 

The Weekly Photo challenge is Summer Lovin’

“There shall be eternal summer in the grateful heart.” ~Celia Thaxter

Living in the tropics there is an eternal summer where….

The fruits are always ripe and I can make delicious banana bread and guacamole.
IMG_1178IMG_3844
A fruit is always ready to be picked.
IMG_0620IMG_1993Parrots chatter and humming birds hum year round.
IMG_3947IMG_3000Flowers always bloom and monkeys always howl.
IMG_3231IMG_4448You can go to the tranquil beaches everyday of the year.
IMG_1731And only leave footprints in the sand as a gentle reminder that you’ve been here.
IMG_5369And finally, flip-flops are worn for every occasion, every day of the eternal summer.
IMG_3109

36 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Summer Lovin’

      • When they changed the formatting of the weekly photo challenges, several of us left comments directly on the challenge post about changes that would make it easier to navigate. Some of the changes suggested were implemented, so maybe we can just post there? I personally would also love to see the links in the comments change to orange when already viewed, just like the gallery of links change to orange after clicked/viewed. I’d start there 🙂

  1. Someone asked about what to do with so many bananas…ha, I’d like to have that “problem.” Have you acquired a taste for cooked, green bananas? They always came with any plate of cooked food in the Caribbean. I never cared for the green bananas, though. I did like the other “provisions”: cooked yam, plantain, etc.

  2. Of course, I am envious of all those eternal summer things: fruit, birds, blooms, beach, palm trees. But I really had to chuckle about your last picture: flip flops and rubberboots. I guess the rubberboots are for walking thru high grass and carrying the machete to cut a path and any snake that might be in the way?

  3. Especially in tropical regions, summer brings its own sweet fruits and flowers and birds and animals galore. Your photos capture the perfect essence of summer. Very nicely captured and described.

  4. See? I knew you are always “cream of the crop” with your posts!! What a lovely feeling your photos and words create for life in the tropics! The banana tree photo is amazing. Bananas look so different here… in neat rows on the grocery store table. 😦 I would prefer your way of getting them. 🙂

  5. I wish you would wait to post when you are ready. It’s disappointing to view an empty space. This reminds me of when I was teaching and the kids would all cry out when someone cut in line… “No cuts!”

    I write this comment with very friendly intent. Your photos are cream of the crop… and worth seeing no matter where you end up in line 🙂 ❤

    • I know, and I’m sorry. 😦 But, I’ve been trying an experiment because I can’t figure out why people ‘like’ a blank page. I used to do this in the comment section because my internet was soooo slow, it would take me ages to load my photos. Now, I don’t have that excuse. Forgive me? Honestly, I waited all day to post, but there is no scheduled time for the Weekly Photo challenges. I’m just curious to see if there is a difference in the number of comments depending where we are in the ‘line’. Call it an experiment. I’ll stop now that I can compile statistics. jeje

      • That’s an interesting experiment! I wonder if the site would perform better if newest posts appeared first. How would everyone having an opportunity to be “first in line” affect exposure for receiving comments? Now you have me wondering.

        • That’s a great suggestion. I would really like to see the newer posts go first. I try to visit all of the Weekly Photo challenges and leave comments on some, but when there are over 500 posts, some of them get lost in the mass of posts.

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

