Our Mini-Super Morphed into Mega!


“It’s easy for Americans to forget that the food they eat doesn’t magically appear on a supermarket shelf.” – Christopher Dodd, American Politician

Our Mini-Super grocery store has changed gradually throughout the four years we’ve lived permanently on Ometepe Island. Guillermo tends to the needs and wants of tourists…meaning we could always find a few spices or Quaker Oats hidden among the bags of rice or the piles of eggs precariously perched in a corner of the store.

But, two weeks ago, our Mini-Super transformed into a Mega Store. It was a magical sight! I was mesmerized by the choices, awed by the shiny wide aisles, and overwhelmed with the selection of shampoos and wine.

Welcome to our new shopping extravaganza. I could spend hours in a grocery store in the states. I get so excited when I see food. But, I thought those days of carefree shopping were gone…until today!

IMG_4108The shelves twinkle with colorful cereals, the freezers hum merrily, and the wine bottles and boxes ooze with temptation.

Where the service is friendly and I know all the employees. All I have to do is ask, and my giant chocolate bars will be ordered the next day. It’s the only store on the island that has big bags of cat food, too.

IMG_4110Ometepe Island’s first shopping carts have arrived along with a new ATM!

“The grocery store is the great equalizer where mankind comes to grips with the facts of life like toilet tissue.” – Joseph Goldberg

Yes! Our new Mega store is certainly a great equalizer. I may never have to leave the island again.

 

11 thoughts on “Our Mini-Super Morphed into Mega!

      • Correct and Wal Mart owns more grocery stores (real stores not corner shops out of a house) than any other company. Despite how many people feel about Wal Mart they do provide a service to a great number. I hated seeing my local Pali go to wal mart because the first thing they did was take out about 20% of the food products and stock the shelves with not perishable plastics. We need a food selection, not a selection of plastic toys.

    • I know this sounds silly to most people, but this is a big deal here. It was always a day’s search in a variety of little stores to find what we needed. Many times we had to go to the mainland to get our grocery supplies. It’s so nice to experience one stop shopping again. πŸ™‚

  1. Oh, I LOVE this! I remember when the BIG grocery store came to our neighborhood on the hill above Port-au-Prince. It was amazing. We kept walking the isle and fingering the products. Yes, it was a bit much for Haiti, but the expats working there after the earthquake benefited. Though, there, it was not an equalizer, I fear. Wish it could have been. I don’t know what will ever equalize folks in a place like Haiti.

    Can’t wait for your visit to Cuenca!!!!!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Our rapidly growing tourism industry has created more of an equalizer for the local islanders. When I was shopping in the new mega store ( well, you know, it’s all relative), the place was packed with all locals buying their picnic supplies for Semana Santa. I wish there could be an equalizer in Haiti, too.

      We’ll be in Cuenca around May 10th. First, I have to go to the big market in Octavo and buy a sweater. I have NO warm clothes. I can’t wait. See you soon. πŸ™‚

  2. so happy for you πŸ™‚ We do have the larger stores in Ecuador in the larger cities, though still hard to find certain items. It’s been amazing going shopping. I’m sure the look on my face as I gaze at the large abundance of items is one of amazement. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, I bet you are having a wonderful time shopping in the mega stores in the states. I am often bewildered because there are too many choices and I have a small suitcase to haul my treasures back home. We’ll be in your area in Ecuador the week of May 20-28. Can’t wait to visit with you upon your return. Enjoy your shopping! πŸ™‚

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

