Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life on Ometepe Island


 

The Weekly Photo Challenge is Street Life. Ometepe Island, Nicaragua is a rural, agricultural area with colorful street (or volcanic path) life. Join me on a trip into Moyogalpa with our favorite moto taxi driver.

IMG_1894

Traffic jam ahead…
IMG_0956Flowers line the dirt roads in every village…
IMG_0029
School children walk leisurely to school. No school buses here…
IMG_3361Every village road has a view of Vulcan Concepcion…
IMG_2451Sometimes it’s a view of an eruption…
Concepcion 2007Rice dries on the street in front of my friend’s house…
IMG_3832Jesus protects every home in town…
IMG_2960A brick delivery…
DSCN1235We have a tent bank in town…
tent bankThe chicken bus stop…
IMG_0545Apples are in town…
IMG_0537And there is always a parade…
IMG_0548with ice cream vendors…
IMG_0541An island where the elderly are respected and revered…
IMG_0544Oh, I forgot to buy a pan when I was in town! No worries. Here comes the pot and pan vendor now…
IMG_1390I hope you enjoyed a peek at our street life. Come back soon.

22 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Life on Ometepe Island

  1. I used to walk to school in elementary and Jr High School here in the states, kids don’t walk no more but than again there are too many crazy people on the streets.. love your pics as always πŸ™‚

    • Jorge, I used to walk to elementary school, too. That’s one of the things about living on Ometepe Island that I enjoy…there aren’t too many crazy people on the streets. Now..crazy animals….yes quite a few. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you enjoyed my photos.

  2. That looks as I imagine some areas of Mexico might have been about 40 years ago. As you know, we also live in a rural area, but I think of here being more modern. (We would never see rice drying in the street. Nor corn, for that matter. Corn dries on the patio.

    By the way; what’s the average winter temperature there? The summer temperature? Here, right now, 1:02 PM CST, the temperature in the shade of the porch feels like 75ΒΊ F. Outside, in the sun, considerably hotter. This is the dry season.

    Sra.Cuevas hung up the first washer load of clothes on the line, and they were already dry when the second washer load was done.
    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    • Your area is very modern compared to our area. Amazingly, it reminds us of the Ozarks, 30 years ago. We’re in the dry season now with an average temp of 90 degrees during the day and 80 degrees at night. It doesn’t seem really hot because it’s a dry heat. But, when the rains start in mid-May, it gets really humid and feels hotter. I know what you mean about the clothes drying rapidly. Same here. I’m in the states now, visiting my mother and brother. I can’t get warm and I’m in the Southern USA. Brrrrrr.

    • Don, I love it here because it is like Santa Cruz, Tepic, Nayarit and Puerto Escondido were in the 1970s before hotels, etc. It is also like Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica was when I lived there in the 1980s. That town, I discovered on a visit last week, no longer exists and has been replaced by Lahaina, Maui with expensive restaurants and traffic jams. I did see my old friends there so it was worth the trip.

      Both places were ruined (my not so humble opinion) by their beautiful ocean beaches, the lack of which I hope saves Ometepe.

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

