Weekly Photo Challenge: A Grand Homecoming


“Every traveler has a home of his own, and he learns to appreciate it the more from his wandering.”
― Charles Dickens

The Weekly Photo Challenge is Grand… a magical, special place…the “wow” factor.  After a long stressful trip back to the states, returning to my special island in the middle of a sweet sea, in the middle of Nicaragua, in the middle of Central America is a grand homecoming.

Boarding the ferry for the hour-long trip across the sweet sea, I peek at our active volcano, Concepcion, about 10 miles away.
IMG_0483Ometepe…how I’ve missed you! I zoom in for a grand view.
IMG_0479My island home! How majestic! How grand!
IMG_0492The waves splash against the ferry window, blanketing me with a warm breeze. How refreshingly grand!
IMG_0501The clouds over Concepcion paint a grand vista.
IMG_0506Only 30 more minutes! I’m so excited. It’s a grand, magical island.
IMG_0511Is the airport near our house open yet? I’m anxiously awaiting the grand opening.
IMG_0529The little launcha chugs past our house. Isn’t she grand?
IMG_0514“Almost home,” I shout excitedly as we pass our house.
IMG_0543Life on Ometepe Island is priceless! What a grand homecoming!

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: A Grand Homecoming

  1. Welcome back to Ometepe Debbie! It was a pleasure to meet you and Ron on your travels. Christophe & I look forward to following your adventures on Ometepe and hope to be back someday!

  2. We really loved Ometepe. I remember thinking that we could get lost in a place like that. We are planning our next trip out there in July. Hopefully we can head out there and say hi!

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

