Flights of Fancy


“Some might think that the creativity, imagination, and flights of fancy that give my life meaning are insanity.” ― Vladimir Nabokov

I must be insane. My life is piloted on whims of fantasy. Returning to Nicaragua, it dawned on me that I have so little time left to carry out and fulfill my flights of fancy. Attending the celebration of life for Ron’s mother, I realized that life is only a blink of an eye. I can’t afford to put my life on autopilot.

IMG_0428It was a ying yang trip to the states…a dichotomy of decisions…polarities of emotions. Joy filled with sadness overwhelmed me from my mother’s memory loss to celebrating the life of Ron’s mother with friends we haven’t seen for years… from frigid temperatures that transformed my skin from creamy softness to a scaly alligator to countless steaming cups of hot chocolate that warmed my tropical bones. From difficult decisions about what to do with my mother’s house packed with memories of a lifetime to the miraculous space bag that sucked my new mattress cover into a compact space easy to pack in my suitcase.

IMG_0433I’m so happy to be back on Ometepe Island where creativity, imagination, and flights of fancy give my insane life a sense of normalcy. It’s December. The weather is perfect, the rainy season is over. I have new cookie cutters and fancy cookie supplies for my Christmas baking. And many miles to go before I sleep.

IMG_0438Thank you my faithful readers for waiting patiently. I’ve been negligent on posting and responding to your lovely posts and comments. I am slowly reorganizing and unpacking my goodies. Life is good, retirement is better, living on Ometepe Island is priceless.

Oh, and if you are wondering about these pictures, my step-brother sent his private plane to pick us up and take us to Florida for Thanksgiving. What an amazing flight!

 

10 thoughts on “Flights of Fancy

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

