The Legend of El Chupacabra


Since we don’t celebrate Halloween in Nicaragua, I am reposting a Halloween post from 2 years ago. Enjoy.

Rewired and Retired in Nicaragua

Legends of bloodsucking creatures are present all over the world and throughout history. Seven years ago, I read in La Prensa that a young man was lost on Vulcan Concepcion. He had attempted to climb the volcano without a guide and was ill-prepared for the dangerous trek. Those foolish enough to scale the 1610 meter slopes without assistance are usually seriously wounded, lost, or as in the case of the 24-year-old Salvadoran, eaten by El Cupacabra.

My English students told me that the guides found his body a week later.  His head was wedged between two rocks, his leg was broken, and an arm was missing.  Luvis pounded her fist on my plastic table when she heard the news and emphatically stated, “It was the Chupacabra.”  “What in the world is a Chupacabra?”  I asked curiously.  They all looked at me astounded because I had never heard of the creature.

View original post 525 more words

5 thoughts on “The Legend of El Chupacabra

  1. Great story I love how the kids each have their own version. A few years ago we were in Saigon on Halloween night and we couldn’t get over the young Vietnamese ,ages 20-30 out for a night of ghoulish reverie. Quite a sight.

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

