We Do House Hunters International!


In February, I received a comment on my blog:

I hope you do not mind me getting in touch. I work for an American property and travel show and I came across your blog whilst looking for people to participate in our popular documentary show and really enjoyed reading about your adventures!

We are currently looking for families and individuals to appear on our show who have recently relocated to new and exciting parts of the world and have an interesting story to tell – and it seems to me you would fit the bill.

I responded to the producer’s email:
One thing I need to mention is that we are not rich expats living in a gated community.  We’re simply adventurous retired teachers. We live a simple, comfortable lifestyle in a small rural community where we are the only foreigners. I think many people that watch your show would like to see more episodes that offer them hope of living comfortably on a fixed income abroad. We are actively involved in our little community and passionate about cultural immersion.

So, a TV crew came to Ometepe Island in May. We spent five fantastic, busy days filming for an episode of House Hunters International.

IMG_20130509_082857The crew was awesome and they gave us many tips for appearing on TV.
HHI - Ometepe 083 (800x600)I had to stand on blocks and bricks all the time.
HHI - Ometepe 074 (800x600)The best thing was filming our cultural immersion experiences. We went to our favorite indigenous community, Los Ramos, where we took the cultural cooking class and made delicious nacatamales.
cookin class copy 2All ingredients are ready.
IMG_20130510_160452Grandpa entertains everyone.
in los ramos copyMarvin, my iron man, is a new star!
IMG_20130509_134645They filmed us delivering my mobile lending library books to a school. It was a very touching scene because the sound man had tears in his eyes as he watched Lupita explore the new books.
delivering books copyRon taught swimming lessons to our local community. They had to do a lot of dry land exercises because the lake was so low.
IMG_2716Then, they walked to the deeper part of the lake to practice putting their heads under the water and blow bubbles.
IMG_2729The crew filmed a very popular swimming spot on the island called Ojo de Agua.
IMG_2746
Our last shoot on the island at Punta Jesus Maria. I loved this crew!!!
saying goodbye copy 2Adios Ometepe
IMG_2777Please join us in our adventures on House Hunter’s International, on HGTV, November 7th, 2013 at 10:30 pm EST. The Retirees and the Volcano in Ometepe, Nicaragua.

26 thoughts on “We Do House Hunters International!

  1. Awesome, I missed the episode but will look for it when it re-airs! We also did an episode this year for Leon/Las Penitas, and we are also the non-gated-community types. Once you get the disc, you can rip it onto youtube and re-share here on your blog. Feel free to reach out to me if you need help with that. You can watch our episode here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y9MSZkmkIu8

  2. I’m marking my calendar right now and can’t wait to see this.I really applaud you in focusing in on the cultural immersion. It adds a depth of intergrity and passion for what you both do and obviously this film crew thought so too. Kudus to you and Ron. How exciting. You are real celebrities.

    • Thanks so much, Lynne. Ron and I both decided we wouldn’t do HHI if they didn’t want to focus on cultural immersion. But, quien sabe? Five full days of shooting packed into 22 minutes for TV. I am keeping my fingers crossed that they show all of our lovely neighbors and friends.

  3. So please explain how you “hunted” for a house since you already own your home there! Did you end up deciding to “buy” your own home? Artistic license and all that…

    • Sharon, I’m glad you asked and I expected that question. If you follow my blog, you know our story. Let me explain by saying that HHI is a “reality” show. It is entertaining and educational. We would have been crazy to fly to another country for a week, look at three houses, and impulsively purchase a house. Our actual process took a period of three years. So, concessions had to be made for the sake of TV…22 minutes of TV. Still, the producers worked very hard to replicate our experiences to the best of their ability. I believe that it is a reflection of the process someone would go through in purchasing a house in Nicaragua. They focused on our passion of cultural immersion and glossed over the hard stuff, like the process of building our home and acclimating to a new culture. But, that’s fine with us and I believe it is probably more real than many other reality shows I’ve watched.
      One more thing…they filmed for five days, and we don’t have a clue what has been edited out of the episode…and we won’t be able to watch it until we return to the states. But, I can guarantee it will be entertaining and educational.

  4. I have been watching HHI every day for the last few months, I have seen one episode of San Juan del Sur, one about Leon, and two from Granada. Damm I will be in Nicaragua when it airs! I wonder if they will follow the same formula?

    • Dean, I really don’t know if they will follow the same formula. All I know is that the film crew said they never handed out so many release forms before our episode because we involved so many local people, such as our iron man, our former English students, the people in the indigenous community of Los Ramos, a local elementary school, and our neighborhood kids taking swimming lessons. We wanted them to focus on our passion of cultural immersion. So, we’re anxiously waiting to see how it all turned out.

    • I hope so, NW. Everyone will be able to watch it before us, so my only hope is we don’t look too ridiculous and sweaty. They came at the hottest, driest time of the year. I asked them if they could paint in some green because everything was dead and dusty. lol

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

