If I Were a Butterfly for a Day


“Life is short. If you doubt me, ask a butterfly. Their average life span is a mere five to fourteen days.” ~ Ellen DeGeneres

I made my bucket list when I was 21 years old. I had a Nothing Journal ( if you are a Baby Boomer, you may remember the Nothing Journals) where I would sketch my longings and desires. Included in my sketches:
1.   A cabin in the woods….check
2.   A loving heart…check
3.   A marriage certificate…check (We’ve been married 37 38 years)
4.   A backpacking trip and travel, travel, travel…check
5.   An advanced degree…check
6.   Children…check
7.   A peace sign…still working on that one
8.   A tropical island…check
9.   A Datsun Z…never got that car
10. A St. Bernard…never got a St.Bernard either, but I’ve had numerous pets

My bucket list included living without regrets, always taking a second chance, and learning to forgive. Now that I’m officially retired, my bucket list is shorter, and so is life.
Below are two highlights I crossed off my bucket list.

Olive Ridley Turtle Arribada  This Olive Ridley is burying her eggs in a downpour.

Monarch butterfly sanctuary near Ocampo, Mexico.

If you were a butterfly for a day, what would you put on your bucket list?

 

9 thoughts on “If I Were a Butterfly for a Day

  1. This is beautiful! You sound so much like me! 🙂 I used to keep those lists but perhaps it is time to write one again? How old are your children? Any grandkids yet? You are so inspiring to me! I picture my husband and I doing something similar when we retire. 🙂 Thanks for always inspiring!

    • Nicole, your thoughts mean so much to me. Thank you. We have an only child, Cory. He will be 31 in 2 weeks. Hard to believe. We never actually considered him to be our only child because we always had a houseful of International Exchange students for a year and they became part of our family, too. Their families became our families and we traveled to visit them abroad. Cory finally got engaged to the love of his life. They both work in Yosemite Natl. Park…well..until they were furloughed due to the Republican shutdown. They haven’t set a date for the wedding. No biological grandkids, yet. But that’s OK because we “adopted” many Nicaraguan grandchildren. I can’t wait to read your bucket list. I’m sure it will be amazing. 🙂

      • Wow, that is so cool that you had all the international exchange students! I love that. Must have been wonderful for your son growing up. I bet he is a really great guy. Exciting too about the wedding! 🙂

  2. great post! My last three things on my bucket list : tattoo-yes, live on or near the beach- yes and travel to Scotland, not yet . I did start a new one when we retired and the only item on it is taking the Manatee Amazon river cruise which we plan to do next year since visiting family in the US will have to happen before that. 🙂

    • OK, who has the tattoo, John or Mary? I got a tattoo for my 45th birthday because we bought a Harley and of course, one can’t ride a Harley without a tattoo. 🙂 A Manatee Amazon cruise…how exciting. Can you start the cruise in Ecuador? Thanks for a glimpse of your bucket list. I’m enjoying reading everyone’s responses.

  3. Xmas in Vienna on a sleigh with a handsome dude in a Tuxedo: climb the Hinmalyas: live on a yacht/boat: become a precise and competent horsewoman: all the other ones, I achieved. great post amiga!

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

