Timeout for Art: Teachers


“Because teachers, no matter how kind, no matter how friendly, are sadistic and evil to the core.”
― Heather Brewer, Eighth Grade Bites

Normally, I wouldn’t post a sarcastic quote about teachers, but this is different. Walter White was a milquetoast chemistry teacher who broke bad when he was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. He turned to crime by producing and selling methamphetamine with a former student in order to leave his family financially secure when he died.

Breaking Bad is a popular television drama series, and I am addicted to this show. Walter is: a protagonist turned antagonist, a nerdy middle-aged high school Chemistry teacher turned murderous drug lord, a villain seeking redemption by ignoring his past sins, and a monster because he has rationalized it all.

Shrouded in his crystal meth, Walter represents our dark sides. I often ask myself, “What would it take to break bad?” A terminal illness? A diseased brain? A fight with a family member? Do we all have the potential to break bad? How would I respond if I was diagnosed with a terminal illness?

IMG_3388 2 Breaking Bad brings out the best and the worst in me. The best, in that I can ponder the philosophical questions about life….the really important questions like; Are we human only because of chemical equations in our brains? When is it justified to kill another human being? What baggage do we carry on the road to redemption? What governs my life choices? Is it emotions, personal motives, or consequences of my actions? Without memories are we still human?

On the other hand, Breaking Bad can bring out the worst in me. I can rationalize poor decisions, react impulsively out of revenge, justify my wicked thoughts by blaming others, and cuss like a hurracca when my feathers are ruffled.

Simply put, I’m human. My dark side stays safely tucked away most of the time. Unlike Walter White, I don’t expect to break bad anytime soon. But, the potential is there. When Hank (Walter’s brother-in-law) confronted Walter and said, “I don’t know who you are anymore.” Walter responded, “If you don’t know who I am, then maybe the best course would be to tread lightly.”

Here’s to treading lightly, enjoying each day as it comes, living fully and compassionately, and keeping that dark side safely tucked away!

 

 

14 thoughts on “Timeout for Art: Teachers

  1. So why do you say Walt was a “milquetoast” high school chemistry teacher? He did inspire Jesse’s life direction – well, sort of. Seriously, I’ve been watching since first episode and agree the show is brilliant for how it makes each of us face existential questions. And you are brilliant for how you’ve captured some of them here!

    • Haha! Yep, I guess you could say that he inspired Jessie’s life direction. Do you think Jessie will try to kill Walt? I have so many questions. I always look forward to hearing from you. I’m glad we can share our love of Ometepe and Breaking Bad. 🙂

  2. Wow! You have captured Walt to a T. I believe I even hear his voice giving Jesse orders. Your art skills just went over the top in this one. I don’t think I have seen all the seasons, but it certainly has some excellent writers and quite a cast of desperate characters.

    • Thanks Lynne. Do ya think I’m inspired by evil???? lol This show has me hooked for a variety of reasons. The writers are brilliant and I can identify with the desperation of some of the characters. It magnifies the process of change that we go through in life. What a show! What will I do when it ends? Boo hoo.

  3. Your drawings are amazing to one who can’t put two lines together. To say stunning doesn’t do justice to your work.

    I hadn’t heard of the show until reading your post and just downloaded the first four seasons. I gave thought to ‘breaking bad’ years ago when it came up in a conversation of What Would You Do If…? I replied I would do something about Alfredo Stroessner, then dictator of Paraguay and all around horrible person. My friends thought that was really strange. I thought it was pretty strange that given the opportunity in the same situation they wouldn’t want help the largest number of people.

    Now I’d just do the same things I do already, with the addition of taking care of my collection of stuff so my heirs wouldn’t have to. Yeah, old and boring, but that’s because the earlier parts of my life weren’t.

    • Just you wait…you are going to be addicted to “Breaking Bad”, too. Brian, thanks so much for complimenting my art work. I’m slowly gaining confidence and enjoying seeing with a ‘third eye.’ Now, you have me thinking about “What would you do if…?” It’s a tough question to answer. I know, like you, my answer would be very different from 30 years ago. Lately, I’d answer “What would you do if your house in the states was burning down?” My response would be…Burn, baby, burn.

  4. Pingback: The Journey (Travesía) | the terrain of symmetry

  5. This is so interesting like the post very much and the drawing is really good show emotion not easy to do. I never seen this show and everyone talks about it, I do get the title of the show and the meaning behind it, one of my best friends always says to embrace the dark side in order to keep it far away, but like the way you and this lets take it day by day.

  6. oh my goodness, this is incredible! not only the drawing, but the content as well! seeing the drawing brought tears to my eyes! amiga, you have definitely emerged from your cocoon – complete chrysalis. you are soaring, lovely mariposa! i am i transit ad look forward to getting home ad seeing this on a large screen!
    z

    • Oh, Z. Your comments made my day!!! I am getting the hang of portraits. Now, I want Ron to pose for me. lol I don’t think he’ll do it. Instead, I’m going to work on sketching hands and eyes. Glad you’re on your way home. There’s no place like home!

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

