Timeout for Art: Good Bones


Design in art, is a recognition of the relation between various things, various elements in the creative flux. You can’t invent a design. You recognize it, in the fourth dimension. That is, with your blood and your bones, as well as with your eyes.
David Herbert Lawrence

Southern hospitality is the backbone of the Southern United States. For the past two weeks, I accompanied my talented mother to her weekly painting class where I was greeted by an enthusiastic instructor who has a third eye and a creative spirit. As my mother prepared her palette, the instructor invited me to sketch the architecture of the “Old South”, which the class was painting in oils.

IMG_3147Mom reflected on the good bones of the shotgun house, painting the foundation first, before adding the lighter details. The shotgun house was the most popular style of house in the Southern United States from the end of the Civil War to the 1920’s.

IMG_3150Good bones! I think this is a camel-back shotgun house because it has a second story.

IMG_3148I settled into an architectural frame of mind as I attempted to make the shotgun house seem old and well used. Of course, that meant adding lots of winding ivy. After all, you can’t invent a design. It’s just a matter of adding a creative twist with your blood, your bones, and your eyes.

IMG_3170Checkout Lisa’s Timeout for Art: Bones for many creative artists.

 

15 thoughts on “Timeout for Art: Good Bones

  1. What a great thing you and your mom can do together. I actually thought of Charleston or Savanna when I saw your depiction, especially with the wrought iron. Really, nice, Debbie.

  2. wow so your mom is artistic too, so nice to see her painting and your drawing, both of you so creative, good job!

  3. Pingback: I found you (Te encontré) | the terrain of symmetry

  4. wow! thank you for taking us to the art class! your mother looks like a great person, and I would have loved to have had her in my class when I taught in the usa. you both did an amazing job – I admired the arches of the windows, but the perspective in the stairs – wow, you both did great!

    thanks for sharing both photos! that must have been a very rewarding experience!

    z

    • I thought painting with oils would be really scary, too. But, watching my mother paint, she made it look easy. She was painting the ivy and she didn’t like the way it looked, so she just took a rag and a little turpentine and wiped the canvas clean, then started all over again. It never fails, as soon as I post my picture, I notice all kinds of things I’d like to erase. lol Turpentine won’t work in this case.

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

