Timeout for Art: This Little Piggy Went to Market


“Piglet sidled up to Pooh from behind. “Pooh?” he whispered.
“Yes, Piglet?”
“Nothing,” said Piglet, taking Pooh’s hand. “I just wanted to be sure of you.”
― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

A good friend of mine in Nicaragua is a pig farmer. Her two sows recently had two litters of 19 piglets in all. When the piglets are six to eight weeks old, she sells them. She invited me to visit her two farrows of piglets the other day. Scrambling on top of one another, bouncing, jumping, playing, napping…I enjoyed every second watching piglet antics.

This quote seemed very appropriate because there are two giant mama pigs, who take turns nursing the 19 piglets. The piglets sidle up, snuggle close, and I think they just want to be sure of each other.

IMG_3135During this video, there was a 6.3 magnitude earthquake off the coast of Nicaragua. There was plenty of rockin’ and rollin’ going on, but the sweet little piglets didn’t seem to mind one bit. And if you are rooting for the runt (who walks away unable to find a teat), don’t worry. He sidled up with the other mama pig a few minutes later…just to be sure.

25 thoughts on “Timeout for Art: This Little Piggy Went to Market

    • Z…thanks. I’m lovin’ Timeout for Art. They are excellent mamas sharing their milk. So cute to watch. There is one little piglet that I drew that looks like a demon piglet. lol I just couldn’t get the shading right. I am in the states now and off to take my mom to her oil painting class. She is following in the footsteps of her father, who took up painting in his 80’s. I’ll post lots of pictures about her painting class. It should be fun.

      • buenos dias!
        have you overdosed on bath tubs yet?? i am always grateful when i stay with someone who has a bathtub, and a take a new book from the many i’ve bought when waltzing through bookstores, and i enjoy the endless supply of hot water, unique shampoos, etc that i find at my friends/family’s homes!

        good art stores are always appreciated.. the papers and brushes and pigments and and and….

        it’s all great, but it’s also great to get back to the simple life.

        how great that your mother is painting! your posts will be wonderful!

        it’s cold at night here in quito, and i stay under the covers as long as possible before bolting to a sunny nook to absorb the morning rays. call me iguana!

        i will most likely be in the amazon starting tomorrow, but the timeout for art post should go out if nothing backfires! the subject will be ‘nature.’

        enjoy your time with your mother!

        z

        • Oh, thanks for the next topic of Timeout for Art. My mom bought me a new sketch pad and new pencils. I am so excited. I was using a heavy watercolor sketchpad because it was the only thing I had in Nicaragua. This is like sketching on butter…so smooth. Enjoy your chilly evenings..iguana! 🙂

  1. Wow! love the post, perfect quote, drawing and video. Like the dark background against the pig, you have a way with detail, the mama looks so comfortable and piglets trying to reach just like the video. We use to have a ranch, and had not seen pigs in ages like the video they are so cute.

  2. I’ve never seen anything like that before being a city person, the one piglet that was trying to get in on the action gave new meaning to the phrase, ‘sucking hind tit’ I enjoyed that!

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

