Timeout for Art: Death Supports New Life


It’s Timeout for Art from Zebra Designs and Destinations. Every Thursday, we submit our drawings and Lisa tenderly and lovingly supports us in our attempts at pencil sketches and shading.

My goal this week was to improve my shading and highlight the lighter boundaries with a darker background. Every week, I feel like I am improving. But, I still like the feeling I get when sketching, more than the sketch itself. It is a tiny Zen moment in my daily life because there is no past, no future…only the now. My perceptions are keener, and my life is richer when I sketch. Thank you for this, Lisa. You are a great inspiration to me.

This week, I walked the beach and found the skull of the Gar that Julio hit over the head with two rocks. Growing out of its eyeball socket was the sprout of a Jacote tree.

“The boundaries which divide Life from Death are at best shadowy and vague. Who shall say where the one ends, and where the other begins?” ~Edgar Allan Poe

Ā 

IMG_2967

 

 

19 thoughts on “Timeout for Art: Death Supports New Life

  1. I am late to comment. Have been out of town, but wanted you to know how much I like your sketch. The Jacote sapling is an extension of your quote. It represents the living and you really captured it with the shading. Pops right out of that skull.

  2. Pingback: wild & untamed (Salvaje e indomable) | the terrain of symmetry

  3. Oh my this is very good, l think you are doing an excellent job, the details is very good and the contrast too, like the meaning behind the drawing. will put a link in my drawing. Muy bien!

      • It’s a matter of observation and practice, and it looks like you are doing both. That “zen” feeling when drawing is good because it means the critical nay-saying part of your brain is silenced for a while, allowing you to draw what you see and not what you think ought to be there.

  4. this is amazing! the quote is perfect for that drawing as well! you are so right about that amazing ‘zen’ place that one goes when totally immersed/focused in a drawing.

    thank you so much for taking the time to draw, photograph and create this post!

    enjoy your weekend!
    z

  5. Grat job Deb! You are way better artist than Me, I can barely draw a house, my drawings would be compatible like a child in kidergarten

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

