Timeout for Art: Waiting for Mangoes


This week’s Timeout for Art challenge is brought to you by Zeebra Designs and Destinations.  Lisa, I anxiously await your challenge every Thursday. Thank you for the inspiration. I think my waiting for mangoes has come to an end.

Princesa and I share mangoes every morning over the barbed wire fence. She bellows…I respond. She slobbers, then bellows for more. Sometimes she lets me pet her while she’s munching on mangoes.

IMG_2862

While drawing today’s challenge, I was in a contemplative mood, thinking about the cattle and other animals barely surviving on Ometepe Island at the beginning of the rainy season. For six dry months we all endure the heat, dust, and brittle grass. Then…mango season arrives..glorious juicy mangoes enrich all of our lives once again. They nourish our bodies and our souls giving us hope for a prosperous harvest. Princesa and I are both happy….the wait for mangoes has ended.

30 thoughts on “Timeout for Art: Waiting for Mangoes

  1. Pingback: Time Out For Art: Bones | Alastair's Blog

  2. Pingback: Timeout for Drawing: Flower Power | Alastair's Blog

  3. I Love mangos! there is nothing like a mint mango lemonade. In a blender combine the juice of 4 large limes or lemons, 1 cup of fresh mint leaves, the flesh of one large ripped mango, honey or sugar to taste and blend until smooth.. I usually add a little water to thin it out, but that depends on your gusto

    • YUM! Thanks for the recipe, Jorge. I have to laugh because when the TV crew was here filming us, they wanted some shots of us in our everyday lives. I picked mangoes and made a mango smoothie. The first taste was so awesome…I squealed in delight! Then, all the film crew had to have a sip. I hope they got that on camera. 🙂

  4. Princesa is precious and you draw out the happiness she gets from you and mangoes. Don’t be afraid to put your art out there. It’s wonderful. Thank you for visiting my blog and commenting. Lisa is amazing. That’s why she needs to see our ‘art’. 😉

  5. Great subject and story, especially reading the last comment of drawing by flashlight. You win the tenacity award. Love the perspective on that cow. I can almost see her slobbering over the mangoes.Nicely done.

  6. what a great story, like the way Princesa is looking at us, glad you both have mangoes, put a link in my page if you do not mind

  7. That is so funny! I love it! yes, cattle will burst through a fence to get to mangoes at the end of the dry season! i reasoned that they’re thirsty as well as hungry for that tasty fruit!
    great post! thanks so much for being part of this weekly drawing ‘circle.’

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

