The Giver


Jefferson is a weekend philanthropist…a young giver with a heart that invests in people. He came to Ometepe Island seeking a way to help people change their own lives. Not only did he find Mariselda, a ten-year old with polio, he also became engaged to the love of his life while visiting Ometepe.

This is his story…a story of helping unconditionally, loving freely, and simply giving for the joy he receives in knowing that he can make the world a little better one person at a time…one weekend at a time.

Thanks to Jefferson for allowing me to share his story: Buying a Girl a Bike

 

9 thoughts on “The Giver

  1. Hey Debbie! Thanks for writing this, it’s always great to hear what other people think about the trips I take. One of the best parts about giving is the connections you make with other people – the people you give to or the other people who are giving along with you. I can’t wait to meet you all next time I’m down in Nica!

    Doing these donation projects while I travel has MADE the trips what they are – it’s so much more meaningful than straight-up tourism and I learn so much more than I would if I was trying to learn about poverty on my own. Learning through doing also makes great relationships possible and makes the giving process much more meaningful because of the personal stories of everyone I meet. One of the things that makes me the most excited is seeing my American friends get excited about helping the people I meet – people over here are hearing personal stories they never would have known about without it, and they always impress me with their empathy.

    Anyway, stay tuned! We did 3 other donation projects that I’m really excited to write about. I THINK they’ll be up on the blog next week 🙂

    • Jefferson, I admire your philanthropic spirit, and your perspective of travel. I wish you the best and I’m looking forward to reading your latest posts. Thanks again. Oh, and I go to Los Ramos quite often…I’m going to check on Mariselda and her family..maybe I’ll write a follow-up for you. 🙂

      • That’d be PERFECT! I’m sure my family would love to see how Mariselda’s doing from time to time, how her treatments are going, and all of that good stuff. That would mean a lot, thanks! 🙂

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

