Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful


 

Recovering from Dengue fever (undiagnosed, but I had most of the symptoms) has left me spiritually, physically, and emotionally drained this month. In my delirium, I had a difficult time finding something for which I could be thankful. My eyeballs felt as if they were going to burst right out of my head and every bone in my body ached. I guess that’s why they call it Break Bone fever. I’d lay in bed moaning, unable to eat, read, or sleep.

But, in a strange kind of way, the little click..click..click of the geckos playing and running up and down the walls were reassuring to me. They kept me grounded and just thankful to be alive. I’d watch them scamper from ceiling to wall, seeking insects and sometimes love. I wondered how they stuck to the walls and what would happen if I covered the walls with grease. Would it become a giant slip and slide?

Did they feel dizzy hanging upside down? Were they aware of my three kittens eying them suspiciously? What would it be like to regenerate a body part? Sometimes, they’d fall from the ceiling to the tile floor with a SPLAT. Did they hurt as much as I did?

Since there was very little I could do, the reassuring click..click..click of the geckos kept me focused on their antics, instead of my pain. It reminded me of using meditation and breathing techniques for natural childbirth…riding the big wave through each contraction…listening intently for the reassuring clicks of the geckos…I’m still here…I’m still alive.

For that I am very thankful. I’m on the slow road to recovery…with a little help from my clicking gecko friends…keeping me grounded…focused…and constantly entertained.

21 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful

  1. Wishing you a speedy recovery… the photo is precious. 😉
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Have a grace filled week! .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”

  2. Deb…..
    I’m so happy you’re on the road to recovery. I love this piece. It’s very moving. You should write a book like Chicken Soup for the soul except use the title Gallo Pinto for the Expat’s Soul. Damn that geckos’ picture looks like me and my husband mating 20 some odd years ago. Can’t remember what’s it like anymore. I love watching Geckos when I visit my mom in Florida. Sometimes they have a story to tell just by watching them. The last time I saw 3 Geckos violently fighting among each other— a love triangle going on.

    Anyway, take care of your Immune system. If you have access to ginger, turmeric, clove and cinnamon, combine all these herbs and make a tea. I normally, boil a gallon and store in the Fridge. I drink it hot or cold 3-4 times a day. Also, you can mince fresh garlic and hide inside a banana and swallow it.

  3. Whoa. That was moving piece. It brought tears to my eyes then I thought of your pain and this pain management technique and how focusing on something else helped you. Having a background as a hypnotherapist I can attest the value of this meditation but you added a whole new dimension to it. Who would have thought that click, click, click……………..

  4. you have my deepest sympathies, oh partner in suffering. ‘ after dengue’ i boast that my daily perfume is the floral scented variety of “off” repellent during the dengue/rainy season!

    i loved your post, and am proud that you found a positive way to endure the difficult times.

    i had to force myself to start walking each day; the first day i walked slightly downhill then worried that i would not be able to get back to the house! each day i could go a bit farther, as will you! one day at a time, amiga; i am glad you’re on the mend! z

    • Thanks Z…I’ve had to force myself to get out of the house a little each day. Yesterday, I even raked some leaves for a few minutes. I felt darn proud of myself for putting one foot in front of the other..step by step. I can’t stand using Deet…I have Skin-so-soft and it usually helps. I am not one to get bitten by mosquitoes, either. They usually pass right by me onto another juicier morsel.

      • i am glad that you’re better. i was sick for during september and october years ago, and it took all of november before i was strong enough to fly to the states for a solo show.. whew!
        by christmas, you should be 100 percent again. not bad when you reflect on what an ugly illness kicked you down and stomped on you!
        z

  5. Happy to hear u are slowly but surely recovering. The picture of the geckos looks oddly enough to me like they are mating. To each our method of maintaining our sanity thru tough times. 🙂

  6. Whoever thought meditating on geckos would help one get through a bad illness. I can just see all the things you mentioned, and you have me thinking about little gecko suction feet on greased walls. I can’t imagine how difficult it is to get through Dengue fever, but I’m so glad you are on the road to recovery. And I will now look on geckos in a new, and more appreciating light. Wishing you a more speedy recovery to full health.

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

