Election Day Madness


Today are the Nicaraguan municipal elections throughout the country. Sober voters will march to the polls after church because the government suspended all liquor sales on Saturday at noon. It is impossible to buy liquor until Monday at noon. Too bad because with all of the election day madness in the states…I need a stiff drink!

Last week, I received an invitation to the U.S. Presidential election celebration held at the U.S. Embassy in Managua. The reason I received the invitation is because I am the U.S. Embassy Warden representative for Ometepe Island. Basically, it is a fancy title for a messenger. When the U.S. Embassy has a message for U.S. citizens, they email me the message and I relay it through our expat Google group on the island. It’s just a matter of copy…save…paste.

Yet, I was really excited to attend this celebration and honored to be invited. I started making plans for Ron and I to attend. We needed fancy clothes, new shoes, and a safe hotel in Managua. My friend, Theresa, was going to let me rummage through all of her fancy party clothes since we are about the same size. My baby needed a new pair of shoes. We knew this was going to be a challenge finding appropriate shoes on the island, but we were ready to tackle any and all obstacles that got in our way of attending the gala.Ā  Excitement flowed through the air at our house like static electricity.

I emailed my RSVP to the embassy. “Yes, my husband and I will be attending. Thank you so much for the invitation. We are excited to attend.” However, the emailed response I received shattered my plans like a glass machete. “Your husband is not invited.”

But, why? Is there increased security at all U.S. Embassies throughout the world because of acts of terror? When I called the embassy, they told me that there simply wasn’t enough room in the small embassy for my husband. It reminded me of the time we took our small dog camping with us. When we registered, the receptionist asked us if we had any pets because they were prohibited in the campground. “Yes, but he is only a little dog,” I replied.

I’m disappointed. I don’t feel comfortable going to Managua alone and certainly not traveling by taxi at night to and from the embassy. I politely expressed my disappointment and declined the invitation for the U.S. Embassy U.S. Presidential election night celebration.Ā  It looks like we will celebrate our own Presidential election day madness here on the island…but, on the upside…we’ll be able to buy beer and rum …wear flip-flops…and shout at the TV…as long as we have electricity. šŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “Election Day Madness

  1. i just stayed at a very secure hotel, across the street from ortega’s residence called “el gueguense”, $35 single, $45 double and about 5 minutes from embassy. eskimo has their large plant and a restaurant about three blocks away but a lot of police presence in the area, felt pretty safe..

  2. Hey, you can still wear my fancy clothes for our own Election Night victories! Who wants to be with stuffy Non-Expats! anyway. what they know about Nicaragua would barely fill a thimble! You won’t miss a thing.

  3. I never go ANYWHERE my dog is not welcome.
    You are better off at home- and, back when I drank alcohol,I always kept a stash for times I could not buy it at the store- you know,kinda like keeping food for emergency’s- I have been though hurricanes, ect .I know the value of prepardness You would not have has any fun at the embassy anyway That is for the kind of people who move to Hawaii,not Ometepe. Whole different mindset

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

