Sweet Entrepreneurs


Life is uncertain.  Eat dessert first.  ~Ernestine Ulmer

Two new bakeries opened last week in Moyogalpa. Neither of them have names, yet. One specializes in caked donuts, fruit pies, and pizza. The other one specializes in glazed donuts, whole wheat bread, and cupcakes. I am so darn excited! I’m having a hard time controlling myself! I’ve waited years for someone to make donuts on the island.

Our little island is changing rapidly. In Moyogalpa, we now have four banks with four ATM machines, three bakeries, and two grocery stores with lovely owners who will order anything we want.

Living here is like stepping back in time, where small family owned businesses are the rule, not the exception and the sweet entrepreneurs tempt one to eat dessert first. Now, that’s my kind of living!

 

6 thoughts on “Sweet Entrepreneurs

  1. checking to see: (a) 7.6 temblor: Did you feel it?
    (b) Is Concepcion behaving herself or spitting smoke and ash?

    the epicenter was not far from where i live in guanacaste; all’s fine in my area aside from broken water lines and such. thinking of you!
    z

  2. I love the fact that Mom and Pop stores still exist in Nicaragua, In Italy the economy thrives because of the small business and it is also a way to maintain high quality, provide jobs for locals and prevent big corporations from taking over.

  3. for me, I just love, the vegie lady who comes to my gate every Friday, the ice-cream man who stops to sell me a chocolate cone, the guy with fresh fish filets who visits regularly, the little man who brings me watermelons, the handsome fella who brings me anything I need from the mainland, including electronics and all home consumer goods and only wants 200 cordobas a month, the town crier who tells me who died and when the next fiesta de toros is and where. any and all local folks who sell their wares right at my gate. Now that I like! Things will change but there is here on the island, room for all and the pace of change is very slow compared to other locales. That’s why I am here. Mostly backpacker tourists who are NOT Tourons visit us and I hope it stays that way. We will never become a SJDsur.

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

