Living Like Gilligan and the Gang


Just sit right back and hear a tale...

When I was a child, I dreamed of exotic travels around the world, building a log cabin deep in the woods, living on an island surrounded by coconut trees, and writing a book.

I grew up watching Gilligan’s Island in the sixties.  Although all of my girlfriends wanted to emulate Ginger or Mary Ann, the professor was my idol.  I had no interest in baking banana cream pies.  The professor’s creativity and ability to construct a modern life out of rudimentary driftwood and the assortment of odd garbage that washed ashore fascinated me.  He built water lines out of bamboo poles, telephones out of coconuts, and a bicycle made out of the old boat motor parts that the shipwrecked gang would pedal to generate electricity.  Someday, I fantasized, I was going to live on an island like Gilligan’s.

Rest in peace, Mr. Schwartz. I’ll try to carry on your legacy by sitting right back and telling a tale..or two through the coconut radio.

4 thoughts on “Living Like Gilligan and the Gang

  1. Even Mothers’ dont know all the dreams and hopes our children have.Most people don’t have the time or energy to carryout their dreams.I don’t know if I am happy or worried about all the new adventures that my daughter and son-in-law will be experencing and I know that it will not end in Nicaragua.There is a whole big world out there for them to investigate.
    I know that my faith and love will be their sustaining force.

  2. Good luck with your retirement. Sounds fun. I read about it on the Lonely Planet sight and forwarded the message about books to my niece who is going down there.

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

