Waiting for the Parade


Nicaragua became an independent nation on September 15, 1821…or so they thought! The Act of Independence, recognized by a representative of the Spanish crown, meant that Spain was finally out of the picture.  Yet, with the ink barely dry on the Act of Independence,  Nicaragua wasn’t truly independent until April 30, 1838.

Since then, Nicaraguans have fiercely protected their dreams of a free and sovereign nation. For example, when William Walker, a crazy filibuster from Tennessee, declared himself President of Nicaragua with the idea to annex the region to the United States, national groups with opposing viewpoints united against Walker’s threat. A bloody battle ensued at Hacienda San Jacinto and on September 14, 1856 the filibuster was defeated.

It seems to me that Nicaraguans are always waiting for the parade of dignity, respect, peace, and sovereignty. Today is Independence Day in Nicaragua. 153 municipalities celebrate with school parades and national rallies. On the eve of Independence Day, Rosario Murillo said, “These are times of dignity, peace, unity for prosperity, blessing and construction of victories. Everyday, there is heroism in the battle against poverty, illiteracy, improving health, education or saving lives in emergency situations such as in recent weeks. All these environmental crises, activation of volcanoes, tectonics plate, the activation of a climate we can not predict, all that is what we are living from the formidable spirit of the Nicaraguan race that knows of struggles and honor.”

Look closely at these faces waiting for the parade. They are the faces of formidable spirits that know and understand struggles and honor.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Waiting for the Parade

    • Thanks Z. My camera died about a month ago and I frustratingly used Ron’s little point and shoot. I had so many opportunities to capture the essence of the people waiting for the parade..but, the dang camera wouldn’t cooperate. I think I’m going to have to go camera shopping online and have Cory bring me a new camera in December. Any suggestions for a camera?
      Lourdes is my neighbor’s granddaughter. That’s my favorite shot…and a lucky one because someone stepped in front of me as I snapped the picture.
      Yes, usually each community has it’s own parade. But, on la isla, the parades are
      divided by the volcanoes. One parade on the Maderas side, and the other on the Concepcion side. The parades were actually supposed to be yesterday, but for
      reasons unknown to us, Ortega changed the day of the parades. Not many people were happy about the change.
      I enjoyed your pictures of the traditional lanterns in CR. Beautiful pictures.

        • Nance, you are absolutely right. What was I thinking? I always think that Altagracia is on the other side of the island. I’d better brush up on my island geography. Ron and I went into Moyogalpa yesterday for the parade, and not a soul was around. Someone finally told us that the parade had been postponed until today. Go figure! It was almost as bad as the time the Nicaraguan government wanted to try daylight savings time. They notified everyone the same day to change the clocks. It was confusing as heck! The next day, they switched it back to the regular time. LOL
          How was the parade in Altagracia?

        • Ja Ja and I’m the one who uses you for my isla info. :) Ahhh the life of living in paradise.

          We missed ours as it happened at 8am, told it was at 10am. Managed to see the band competition in the stadium. It amazes me that they can drum/dance that long wearing long sleeves and pants in the sun and I’m sweating in the shade with a tank top and shorts. Did I mention I love living on Ometepe?!!!!

        • Jeje! Nance, maybe we should start an online newspaper for Ometepe Island. We have to rely on Norman to spread the news of what’s happening. He has a white Nissan truck with gigantic speakers on the back and travels the sandy roads throughout Moyogalpa to announce births, deaths, and other events…but mostly discos and parties. :-)

      • I laughed about the parade date being changed! Yesterday around 6 in the evening, I wrote friends and said, ‘Don’t forget: Independence Day is tomorrow,but the parade is HOY! – Run quick and you might catch them before they reach the beach!”

        Maybe that’s why he changed the date?

        My camera has died as well; maybe we need to see if we can get a two-for price on our replacements. I loved my old camera, a Panasonic Lumnix w/retract/lens. A sea turtle hurled sand in my face and the camera’s long ago, and there must be one grain still lingering around. The lens goes in and out and in and out then the camera states, ‘remove lens cap and touch any button.’

        I like the Lummix cameras because of the distortion-free Leica lenses. I plan to upgrade but i fear the same camera here will cost what the old camera cost, and an upgrade will be scary.

        Let me know if you find a great replacement.
        Z

  1. Nicaraguans have been through a lot of struggles but we are still trying to figure out what a true democarcy really is. I think democracy is a society that work together to impove the lives of everybody in the community respecting each citizen’s point of view on life and society… Nice post Deb :)

I'd love to read your ideas and thoughts below....

